|FABISCH LAW OFFICES||
Rhode Island DUI Defense Attorney Matthew L. Fabisch - "I aggressively defend your freedom and right to drive after a DUI charge"
In Rhode Island, drunk driving is charged as Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicating Liquors (also known as DUI, OUI, DWI, drunk driving, and driving while intoxicated). The Rhode Island Drunk Driving statute, R.I.G.L. 31-27-2, makes it illegal to " drive or otherwise operate any vehicle in the state while under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, drugs, toluene, or any controlled substance." DUI cases are very complicated, requiring a thorough understanding of traffic laws, search and seizure laws, implied consent laws and scientific evidence.
If you have been charged with any of these drinking and driving related offenses in Rhode Island, allow an experienced attorney to put his experience to work for you.
* First, Second, or Third and Subsequent Offense DUI/DWI/OUI
* First Offense Breathalyzer Refusal
* Second Offense/Criminal Breathalyzer Refusal
* DUI, serious bodily injury resulting
* Reckless Driving
* Minor in Possession of Alcohol
Even if you think you were “drunk” or “intoxicated” does not mean the state can prove that you were operating your vehicle while impaired. Effective defense of a DUI charge requires extensive knowledge of the DUI and refusal statutes, other traffic laws, the constitutional law of search and seizure, the science behind each police investigatory technique (horizontal gaze nystagmus, one leg stand, walk and turn, preliminary breath test and intoxylizer breath test), proper police procedures and regulations, and the laws of evidence, just to name a few. Don’t go it alone. Allow an experienced, knowledgeable attorney to figure out the best strategy to defeat your charges and obtain a verdict of “not guilty.”
Contact the Fabisch Law Offices at 401-324-9344 to see how I can put my training and experience to work for you today.
As an attorney dedicated to protecting your rights in court, I will review your case in detail, identify the state's weaknesses, and aggressively advance your case.
Among the aspects of your case that I will review are:
Call now to set up a free half hour, no obligation consultation to discuss your case.
What are the penalties for a DUI?
DUI and Refusal are serious offenses. Gone if they ever existed, are the days when a DUI conviction resulted in a slap on the wrist and a small fine. These days, the penalties for a DUI conviction can include jail, thousands of dollars in fines, court costs, and driver retraining schools; a prolonged period of license suspension and a loss of the right to register vehicles; and many hours of community service. In addition, a DUI conviction can result in the loss of your job, a dramatic increase in your insurance premiums, and a loss of your reputation and standing in the community.
An arrest for DUI comes at a high cost to time, money, and reputation. These costs are compounded if the state is successful in obtaining a DUI Conviction. In Rhode Island, a first offense DUI conviction brings with it the following stiff penalties and high costs:
Rhode Island DUI First Offense Conviction
* Jail – Up to 1 Year and/or
* Community Service – From 10 to 60 Hours
* Fine - $100-$300 (Up to .08 Blood Alcohol Level)
* Fine - $100-$400 (Up to .15 Blood Alcohol Level)
* Fine - $500 (Above .15 BAC)
* Highway Assessment - $500
* License Suspension – From 30 to 180 Days (Up to .08 Blood Alcohol Level)
* License Suspension – From 3 Months to 12 Months (Up to .15 Blood Alcohol Level)
* License Suspension – From 3 Months to 18 Months (Above .15 Blood Alcohol Level)
* Attend Special Course on Driving While Intoxicated
The costs for subsequent offenses are even greater.
Don't go it alone. Attorney Fabisch regularly obtains favorable outcomes for his clients, saving them thousands in expenses, time, and reputation. If you were recently arrested for DUI, call Attorney Fabisch today and allow him to put his ingenuity, experience, and determination to work for you. 401-324-9344.